Don’t Think I’m Silly, the Whole Process of Selecting a Book To Read

A Guide To Follow When Choosing a Book To Purchase

Andrea Perera
4 min readNov 28, 2023
Created by the author

This might sound silly, but I tend to overthink when buying books because I lose interest quickly. Once I purchased a book that was recommended by many people, I lost interest within a few weeks due to its writing style. Now, I always double-check before punching any books. Here is my process for purchasing books, which might be helpful for you.

1. Select the category you want to read

I make it a habit to maintain a list of books or links that recommend books in a note. For instance, if you come across a video or TikTok that suggests a book, you can save the link and add it to the note. This way, you can easily refer to the link list or booklist whenever you want to buy a book.

Now that you have a list, you cannot get them all, so you need to filter out which types of books or categories you want to buy. This will narrow down your buying process.

For example, I'm not a fiction book fan, so I started exploring life-changing non-fiction books. As a non-fiction reader, I narrowed my selection by asking myself key questions.

  1. What was the last book I read, and what was its category?

--

--

Andrea Perera

Technical Writer | Software Engineer | MSc in Big Data Analytics | Email:andriperera.98@gmail.com | Linkedin: Andrea Perera